For Free Ground Shipping*, enter Code FREESHIP at checkout! *Valid for retail orders only

New Year, New Gig: All About Me, Ali

/ / No comments
New Year, New Gig: All About Me, Ali

Hello!

As we roll into the new year, I suppose it's only fitting that I introduce myself as the newest member of the ShoreBags team. As some of you already know, my name is Ali and I came aboard at the end of 2020. This may seem like strange timing to make a career change, but this was something I could not pass up. Over the holiday season, I have worked directly with some of our amazing clients and with your understanding, this short yet busy season has been encouraging.  That being said, here is a little piece of literature that attempts to recap the experiences that led me to this position and what I would like to accomplish in 2021 with ShoreBags.

Part of the Family

Nidhi and I met at her father's restaurant in the town where Manasi, Nidhi and I graduated high school. We became fast friends and have stayed that way through distance and years. For that, I am grateful. The most exciting part of taking on this role is knowing that the people I work for are honest folks with good intentions. Reflected in the product, the ethics that ShoreBags is based on aligns with what I find to be important. 
 
Though I have spent the majority of my life in Chesterton, Indiana--where ShoreBags is headquartered--  I spent my younger days bouncing between McAllen, Texas where I was born and El Centro, California. I love that our customers are from so many different areas, and am excited to see that many of the shop locations we sell to are familiar to me.  I especially like the direct communication I get to experience with store owners, many of which are woman-owned. 

My Background

In 2016 I graduated from Purdue University with a Bachelor's degree in Business. While working 2 bartending jobs and taking classes full time (!), I was motivated by my daughter and the pursuit of a better life for her.  The last few years have brought a lot of learning along with the realization that the corporate ladder is not so easy to climb, and perhaps not so appealing after all.  The idea that the company I work for is both woman- and minority-owned is refreshing and inspiring. My daughter (now 8 years old) continues to drive me to improve.  I am proud for her to see that it is possible to be a female boss. I love that I get to show her pictures of the women who work in our factory and know that I am not falsely denying a reality of sweatshop life and unfair trade practices.  In addition, the impact on the environment is something that is both important to ShoreBags and myself personally. 

What Else?

Aside from working at ShoreBags, I teach dance to girls four years and older. This is one of my favorite parts of the week. I love watching the girls learn and build confidence in themselves, as well as music in general. I take advantage of going to the lake any time I can andI am passionate about preserving natural beauty. I have two cats in addition to my daughter. I am eager to start this new venture and get to know so many of our customers in addition to making positive changes with ShoreBags in the future. I truly believe that the integrity of this company will be what drives our success and I am honored to be part of the team!